Skip to main content

Joan's Favorite Books

Image

Image

Our founder, Joan Drury, passed away in 2020. Her reading tastes are still very much present in the bookstore. In her own words, this is how she described the books she loved so much:

"I love reading more than anything else. I primarily read fiction as I love stories, but I do read some non-fiction too, especially biographies. Mysteries are my favorite books. In addition, I read novels about the wives of famous men, WWII novels, stories that take place in the first half of the twentieth century, and stories that deal with cultures other than my own."

- Joan Drury

Elizabeth Wein
Current price: $10.99
Don’t miss Elizabeth Wein’s stunning new novel, Stateless The beloved #1 New York Times bestseller, a "fiendishly plotted" (New York Times) "heart-in-your mouth adventure" (Washington Post) that "will take wing and soar into your heart" (Laurie Halse Anderson)  October 11th, 1943—A British spy plan ... Read More about
Chris Cleave
Current price: $18.99
The instant New York Times bestseller from Chris Cleave—the unforgettable novel about three lives entangled during World War II, told “with dazzling prose, sharp English wit, and compassion…a powerful portrait of war’s effects on those who fight and those left behind” (People, Book of the Week). Lon ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Jane Gardam
Current price: $17.00
Book One in Jane Gardam's Old Filth Trilogy Sir Edward Feathers has had a brilliant career, from his early days as a lawyer in Southeast Asia, where he earned the nickname Old Filth (FILTH being an acronym for Failed In London Try Hong Kong) to his final working days as a respected judge at the Engl ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
For twenty years Dan O’Brien struggled to make ends meet on his cattle ranch in South Dakota. But when a neighbor invited him to lend a hand at the annual buffalo roundup, O’Brien was inspired to convert his own ranch, the Broken Heart, to buffalo. Starting with thirteen calves, “short-necked, golde ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
The first comprehensive history of the vital role women—both black and white—played in the civil rights movement. In this groundbreaking and absorbing book, credit finally goes where credit is due—to the bold women who were crucial to the success of the civil rights movement. From the Montgomery bus ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Jacqueline Woodson
Current price: $16.99
A Finalist for the 2016 National Book Award New York Times Bestseller A SeattleTimes pick for Summer Reading Roundup 2017 A Bustle Fall Roundup pick for 2017 The acclaimed New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Brown Girl Dreaming delivers her first adult novel in twen ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Harper Lee
Current price: $16.99
Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American Read Harper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatred One of the most cherished stories of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has been t ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Charles Belfoure
Current price: $14.99
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! "A gripping page-turner...a riveting reminder of sacrifices made by history's most unlikely heroes." —Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of Sold on a Monday and The Ways We Hide An extraordinary book about a gifted architect who reluctantly begins a s ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Marie Benedict
Current price: $16.99
From beloved New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Benedict comes the story of a not-so-famous scientist who not only loved Albert Einstein, but also shaped the theories that brought him lasting renown. In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict's The Othe ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Mojha Kahf
Current price: $19.99
Syrian immigrant Khadra Shamy is growing up in a devout, tightly knit Muslim family in 1970s Indiana, at the crossroads of bad polyester and Islamic dress codes. Along with her brother Eyad and her African-American friends, Hakim and Hanifa, she bikes the Indianapolis streets exploring the fault-lin ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Ta-Nehisi Coates
Current price: $26.00
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF TIME’S TEN BEST NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE DECADE • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF OPRAH’S “BOOKS THAT HELP ME THROUGH” • NOW AN HBO ORIGINAL SPECIAL EVENT Hailed by Toni Morrison as ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Ruta Sepetys
Current price: $12.99
#1 New York Times bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal!  "A superlative novel . . . masterfully crafted."--The Wall Street Journal Based on "the forgotten tragedy that was six times deadlier than the Titanic."--Time Winter 1945. WWII. Four refugees. Four stories. Each one born of a different ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Yasmina Khadra
Current price: $17.00
Set in Afghanistan's capital city of Kabul, this extraordinary novel "puts a human face on the suffering inflicted by the Taliban" (San Francisco Chronicle), taking readers into the seemingly divergent lives of two couples—and depicting with compassion and exquisite details the mentality of Islamic ... Read More about